Is It Just Me?

I just looked at the “Top Movers and Shakers” in YA books for March on Goodreads, a site that I confess that I do not find myself frequenting. Every one of the five books featured a female protagonist. Which I suppose is fine. I admit that I haven’t really liked a female protagonist in a YA book since Katniss Everdeen. And that might be on account of the fact that The Hunger Games is really action oriented.
This is making me wonder…I’m a female, writing about a male protagonist. And the series is going to be really action oriented, with a little romance thrown in (because what teenager doesn’t at least think they’ve fallen in love?) I can’t envision my character being a female in this series. I do have a vampire series that I will pick back up after this entire series is done that will have a female main character, but, that series will be more urban paranormal romance, and not YA at all.
I’m a firm believer in not chasing trends when writing, but I’ve been looking around a little bit and wondering how well a YA/crossover featuring a male protagonist written by a female (though my name sounds kinda masculine) is going to be received.
Maybe it’s just my nerves getting the better of me, or maybe I don’t look at enough YA books to properly judge. I suppose I’ve been so busy writing that I haven’t been doing enough reading. Maybe that’s a mistake.
What do you think? Do you think it’s important that a book be written with a main character that is the same gender as the author?

What do you think?

