Yes, I’m Alive! and Other News

I’ve been working really hard to finish The Scientist’s Son and in the meantime, I’ve managed to get The Inventor’s Son: The Beginning FREE in the US, UK, and Canada Kindle stores! You can also download it from Apple, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo. Amazon just doesn’t seem to want to make the book free in all its stores, but I’m working on it!

I did another guest blog post, this time an interview, on Judy Goodwin’s blog, and then next week I am participating in a blog hop for the first time, called The Speculative Fiction Blog Hop, and hopefully by that time, The Scientist’s Son will be available at all major ebook retailers.

I’ve also been experimenting with a program called Blender, which is an open source rendering program. I wish I had a more powerful computer, so renderings did not take so long, but I’ve been following some tutorials on YouTube.

This was my final result from a wine glass tutorial.
This was my final result from a wine glass tutorial.
This was done with an animation to get the napkin to fall over the glass!
This was done with an animation to get the napkin to fall over the glass!
Unfortunately, this one came out kind of dark...
Unfortunately, this one came out kind of dark…

I think I’d like to eventually do more with Blender and with graphics. To find these tutorials if you are interested, this is Tutor4U’s YouTube Channel page.
To download Blender, the link is here. I know that there are other rendering programs that are probably more powerful, but they are also more expensive and they also have a steeper learning curve, not that Blender is very easy at all. I have just as many projects I haven’t finished because there was a step I missed somewhere and couldn’t figure out what I’d done wrong. Rendering also requires you to think about objects in a different way than with regular drawing programs, but I sometimes have to take a brake from the writing so that I can freshen up my whole viewpoint on the work in progress.

So yes, I’m still around, never fear! (PS: I’m trying to get used to this new blog post editor..)

What do you think?

