NaNoWriMo Begins Yet Again, and So Do the Word Sprints!

This post that I’m reblogging is from back in June, when I was about to embark on Camp NaNoWriMo. How’s everyone doing after their first ten days of NaNo? Are you actually 1/3 of the way through your 50k word draft? As of this writing, I’m at almost 19k, so that puts me ahead of the game, but the intensity of NaNo has been getting me a bit down. I need to be mindful of how deep I dive into things, because for me, the intensity can trigger depression. So for another day or so, I’m going to be taking things a bit slower so that I don’t get overwhelmed.
In other news, I’m running a 99 cent promotion on The Inventor’s Son through November 19th to celebrate it’s 6 month anniversary of publication. Also, The Scientist’s Son is finally published! Links to all outlets where it’s available is on my “The Inventor’s Son” page.
This post was all about word sprints, and how helpful they are to me, and can be to you, as you go forward in your NaNoWriMo adventure! I hope you find it helpful!

SB James, Doing the Write Thing


Camp NaNoWriMo will start up again in earnest on July 1. I am hoping that I will do better this time than last. In April, I had overextended myself with building up the blog, hoping to launch the book (which never happened) and my dear dog passed away. Which pretty much washed out camp.
One of the greatest things I discovered during NaNoWriMo last November were the word sprints. For those of you who may not be familiar with them, let me tell you about what those are, and how you too can participate in word sprints!
I discovered them quite by accident during the final week and a half of NaNoWriMo. I was already been following NaNoWriMo on Twitter, and one night they tweeted about the word sprints. I went and clicked on NaNo’s official Twitter handle for the word sprints, @NaNoWordSprints and basically just jumped right in.
The…

View original post 433 more words

What do you think?

