Am I Crazy? Trying to Tackle “The Meatgrinder”

Last week, I saw an article about Oyster, an ebook lending service like Scribd and Kindle Unlimited, and how they operate and what they are looking to do with their service. I realized that one of the ways I can get my books on Oyster is to use Smashwords to distribute my books there.

Right now, I use a service called Draft 2  Digital to distribute my books to Nook, Apple, Kobo, and the Scribd service. I don’t plan on discontinuing my books with them either, since they are very user friendly and accessible. But I’m starting to see that if I really want to go wider with The Inventor’s Son, I’m probably going to need Smashwords.

So in between NaNoWriMo word sprints, I’ve decided to look into putting my books into the Smashwords Premium catalog, which means I’m going to have to tackle “The Meatgrinder.”

That is the loving moniker Smashwords uses for their uploader/conversion program. They want MS Word .doc files, which would have been peachy once, when I was using my relic Word 97 to write the first drafts of IS and ISTB (and some of SS as well), but now, with my screaming new MS Office 365 subscription, everything I write is a .DOCX.

So, I have to follow their instructions, which are vast and are demonstrated using older versions of Word. I’d convert the files to epubs, but “The Meatgrinder” might just spit them back out if I’m not careful. So, if I can crack the code, I will document my exploits here.

4 thoughts on “Am I Crazy? Trying to Tackle “The Meatgrinder”

  1. Good luck. So far I have achieved nothing but frustration with Smashwords. I won’t say that I tried VERY hard – but that Meatgrinder spat back a lot of my books and left me standing there scratching my head and looking somewhat confused.

    Like

  2. I know what you mean, which is why I went with D2D in the first place. But I was thinking I’d want to try to get into more sales channels. I don’t think someone can just upload to Oyster, though that’s not something I’ve looked into. Google Play seems to be another crazy thing, but I have heard of people making same there as well, so I’m looking into that as well. That’s another part 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh wow, just your little bit of very sensible explanation was enought to hurt my brain. They don’t make it very easy for people, do they? I think I’ll try a few easier avenues first when I’m at the self-pub stage…

    Like

What do you think?

